What You Want To Know About Mississippi Auto Accident Legal guidelines – Authorized Reader

Failure to assert your claim within this three-year period could result in the loss of your statutory right to full recovery.

According to the CDC, around three million people suffer non-fatal injuries in motor vehicle accidents each year. Even more worrying is the number of fatal car accidents that occur each year. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reported that 36,096 people were killed in motor vehicle accidents in 2019.

Unfortunately, the state of Mississippi is no exception to these types of statistics. Car accidents happen on the streets of Mississippi every day.

Of course, there is no surefire way to prevent an accident from occurring. However, it is important to know what accident laws exist in Mississippi. That way, if you are ever involved in an accident on the streets of Mississippi, you’ll know what to do and where to go from there.

Mississippi auto crash statistics

According to the Mississippi Department of Transportation, the following are some key stats to keep in mind about auto accidents:

  • In 2016, there were a total of 690 deaths on the streets of Mississippi.
  • Half of the people killed in Mississippi car accidents are not wearing seat belts; and
  • In 2016, 18% of all Mississippi road deaths were attributable to drunk driving.

A car accident can happen virtually anytime, anywhere. However, these types of statistics can inform trends about when, where, and how car accidents may be more common.

Important Mississippi Auto Accident Laws

Being involved in a car accident can be scary and overwhelming. And while nothing can really prepare you to find yourself in such a scenario, knowing and understanding Mississippi’s accident laws beforehand can bring you at least some comfort and peace of mind.

If you’re ever involved in a car accident on a Mississippi road, these laws may help you understand what to do next.

Car Accident Reporting Laws

Police officer leans in the window of a car after an accident; Image by Matt Chesin via Unsplash.com.

It is important that you report this to the authorities immediately after an accident. In fact, it may be required under Mississippi law.

Section 63-3-411 of the Mississippi Code requires the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident to report the accident if the accident results in:

  • Property damage greater than $ 500
  • Injury or
  • Death.

Even if the accident wasn’t fatal, no one suffered any visible injuries and you’re not sure if there was $ 500 worth of property damage. It is still a good idea to contact the authorities.

Sometimes injuries can occur later that were not visible at the scene of the accident. In addition, a formal accident report by the on-site officer can be good evidence if you later decide to make an insurance claim or a civil law compensation claim.

Statute of limitations

Pursuant to Section 15-1-49 of the Mississippi Code, the Mississippi statute of limitations is three years for automobile accident injuries.

A limitation period is essentially the period in which you have to assert your legal claim. If you are injured in a car accident as a result of someone else’s actions, you may have a legal right to recovery. However, you must file your complaint within three years of the date of the accident. Failure to comply could result in ineligible claims for damages, according to a Mississippi auto accident attorney.

Failure to assert your claim within this three-year period could result in the loss of your statutory right to full recovery. While three years may seem like a long time, it’s important that you seek legal counsel well in advance of your three years to determine if you have a valid legal title and start exercising your rights.

Comments are closed.