Colorado Auto Accident Legal guidelines – Authorized Reader

If you keep an attorney, your settlement amount or jury award will likely be higher than if you handled the claim yourself.

After a car accident, the first thing you must do is seek treatment for your injuries. Then you need to figure out how to pay for everything. There is medical expenses, vehicle damage, work stoppages, and more.

Understandably, you may be wondering if the responsible party pays for your losses. Fortunately, Colorado is a “guilty” state, which means you can file a claim with the other driver insurance company. While this may seem simple, prosecuting a claim can be complicated. Because of this, many people take the time to research various Denver auto accident lawyers to assist them with their claim.

Colorado auto accident statute of limitations

The statute of limitations indicates how long it can be before the law requires you to file a lawsuit. If you do not make your claim in time, it will be excluded. One of the reasons for setting a legal deadline is to protect others from unfair lawsuits brought years later. There is also an incentive to act quickly while all the evidence is fresh and there is a greater chance of tracking witnesses.

Bug in Colorado

Colorado is a so-called modified comparative negligence state. This means you can get compensation for your losses even if you were partially responsible for the accident. Your damage is calculated in proportion to your percentage of negligence. For example, if you are found 25% guilty by a jury, you will receive up to 75% of your damage. However, if a jury determines that you are 50% or more to blame, you will not receive any compensation.

Colorado auto insurance requirements

In a culpable state like Colorado, drivers are required to purchase minimum insurance. Drivers may opt for higher limits, but the state says you can’t have lower limits. Colorado limits are 25/50/15. This means that you must have a minimum coverage of $ 25,000 for personal injury or death, $ 50,000 for all injury or death in an accident, and $ 15,000 for property damage per accident.

What if another driver is not insured?

Do you have uninsured (UM) and uninsured (UIM) coverage for drivers as part of your policy? UM / UIM coverage is a type of coverage that you pay for separately from your liability insurance. If you have UM coverage, you can claim damages from your network operator. Note, however, that this is not treated as primary insurance coverage. Your insurance company follows in the footsteps of the uninsured driver. They will look for ways to assign you a higher percentage of mistakes and reduce your potential compensation.

Report an accident

X-ray of broken collarbone; Image by Harlie Raethel via Unsplash.com.

Once you’ve reported the accident to your own insurance company, you should consider speaking to a lawyer. When you hire a lawyer to represent you in a car accident, they will handle all of the difficult chores and negotiate on your behalf. All communication with the other driver’s insurance will be through your attorney’s office. This allows you to focus on recovering from your injuries and getting back to work.

Auto accident attorneys will also fight for the compensation you deserve. If you keep an attorney, your settlement amount or jury award will likely be higher than if you handled the claim yourself.

Comments are closed.