Biden designates the incumbent FTC chair

On January 21, 2021, President Biden named Rebecca Kelly Slaughter as acting chairman of the Federal Trade Commission. Slaughter will take over the acting chairmanship of former chairman Joseph Simons, who stepped down effective January 29, 2021. Slaughter has been the FTC commissioner since May 2018.

As acting chairman, Slaughter is responsible for managing the commission. The FTC is headed by five commissioners, appointed by the President and ratified by the Senate, each serving a seven-year term. The Commission currently consists of four Commissioners with one vacant seat.

Read the FTC press release.

Comments are closed.